REVIEW: Calle Ocho by Oliva

I got this one in a sampler and was unsure what to expect. This was a relatively “unknown” brand to me, and I noticed it had received some poor reviews from other smokers.

I’m glad to say that not only was I pleasantly surprised by this cigar, but it’s earned a place in my top five! Holy smokes! (no pun intended, of course).

The first thing that struck me about this ‘gar was how smooth it is! I was four puffs in before I knew it!

There are some burn issues to be aware of, though; small holes in the wrapper caused a few ‘burn-throughs,’ which cut the smoke shorter than it could have been.

That said, I happily smoked this one to the nub and was sorry to see it end.

If you’re new to cigars or are looking for one that won’t leave you light-headed, this is the stick for you! It’s a great knock-around ‘gar for yard work, killing time or to hand out to friends.

Calle Ocho by Oliva offers a nice, smooth smoke throughout and will leave you only wanting more. This ‘gar reminds me of the ‘old days’ of smoking and why I got into this hobby in the first place.

Well done.

Stats:

5” x 50 (robusto)
Mild Bodied
Nicaragua
Sumatra wrapper

One thought on “REVIEW: Calle Ocho by Oliva

Leave a Reply

