REVIEW: Padilla Achilles

I suppose I expected a bit more from this cigar, owing to past quality ratings of the Padilla brand and some favorable reviews I had read prior to smoking this stick.

Unfortunately, just as “you can’t judge a book by its cover,” you can’t judge a cigar by its label.

The Padilla Achilles Edición Especial 2006 is nothing more than an average, run-of-the-mill offering. Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t completely pass on this stick, but it is more of a knock-around smoke than a go-to ‘gar. I don’t foresee keeping these in my humidor anytime soon.

There were a few burn issues right off the bat. A little babysitting soon alleviated these problems, but they came up again toward the end of the smoke. It also burns pretty hot toward the end.

I like the idea of this stick. The length and ring size are appealing. The soft and smooth Corojo wrapper is a pleasant addition.

It smokes more like a straight up mild cigar than medium-bodied, though.

I think a bit more time in the ‘development room’ could make this a cigar to remember. Unfortunately, in its current state, this stick is nothing to write home about.  

Well done.

Stats:

6” x 54 (torpedo)
Medium-Bodied
Nicaragua, Honduras, Dominican Republic
Habano Corojo wrapper

Leave a Reply

